A Taster.

I have a few Auricula in flower this week.

Although the weather has turned cold again now, so this will slow progress down .

Here are a some pictures so far.

None of these Auricula are named.

Image

This is a lovely ‘old brocade’ lavender colour, starting a little dark and fading nicely as it ages.

Image

A good clear colour.

Image

Looking a little damaged with the dirty rain we have just had.

Image

I love the combination of lavender and lemon yellow.

These plants are about 3 years old, should have been split and repotted, but I like to have a few larger pots for impact.

I have some plants that I have named for the granddaughters, they chose the colours they liked. I’m hoping that they will flower this year too.

I have inquired about Calke Abbey Auricula Theatre. The garden staff tell me that it should be up and running around mid April until mid May….but if you are making a special journey, then to give them a ring first so as not to disappoint. But in the mean time the theatre is displaying viola and pansy. All the information is on their web site.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “A Taster.

  1. They are lovely. They look so good in their nice clay pots.

    Like

  2. No. 2 is my favorite but they are all great. Do you display yours in a “theatre” ?

    Like

  3. The Editors of Garden Variety

    Truly lovely…the 3rd is my favorite.

    Like

  4. How lovely to name some for your granddaughters – are these ones you have grown from seed?

    Like

  5. As good as a sweet shop 🙂 D

    Like

  6. diversifolius

    I like them all in all shades of colours. I don’t know why they don’t do well here, or maybe they just do ok in pots?

    Like

    • I like them better in pots …but years ago I gardened for a lady who had border auricula in her garden under her roses and they were glorious…I still have a few of their offspring.

      Like

Leave a Reply

