You wanted Roses…..

I started my rose collection about 25 years ago buying the old once flowering shrub roses. These are usually very fragrant, so you can imagine the joy I feel on a summer morning when I walk into the garden to be greeted by such an exuberant display. With around 90 different roses you would think it would be hard to find a favourite, but find one I have.

This has to be William Lobb, a moss rose sometimes known as Old Velvet Moss, the colour is dark crimson which, as it ages turns to a gorgeous purple/grey. This is a tall rose, but I usually grow it as I have seen many roses grown at Sissinghurst, that is around half hoops stuck in the ground with the long growth tied to them, this is done when the growth is still pliable. This way you are at waist level with the flowers. William Lobb is one of the best moss roses of which all parts of the flower including the moss are fragrant.

William Lobb is in large bud at the moment so it won’t be long before I put pictures on here.

Something to wet your appetite….a small selection.

Image

Rosa Mrs Oakley Fisher

Image

Rosa Ipsilante

Image

Rosa ‘Highgrove’

Image

Rosa Tour de Malakoff

Image

Graham Thomas

Image

Rosa Ispahan

Image

Baron Girod de L’ain

Image

Macmillan Nurse

Wollerton Old Hall

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “You wanted Roses…..

  1. Wow – that’s some collection you have there. Each one is gorgeous but I have to say that Macmillan Nurse is a show stopper. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. Lucky you to have the space for all these wonderful roses. I have Graham Thomas, and William Shakespeare and love both. I think the David Austin roses are amazing.

    Like

  3. You have an amazing collection. I used to grow William Lobb when we lived in England; to be honest the garden wasn’t really big enough for such a large growing rose but I did love its perfume. I look forward to seeing it flowering in your garden.

    Like

  4. Gorgeous, I couldn’t pick a favourite,

    Like

  5. Roses are a group of flowers that I am warming to. I used to think they were a lot of work and were always needing to be cured of black spot etc. I now know this is not the case and they do add so much to a garden. Great selection you have. D.

    Like

  6. Roses are a group of flowers that I am warming to. I used to think they were a lot of work and were always needing to be cured of black spot etc. I now know this is not the case and they do add so much to a garden. Great selection you have. D.

    Like

  7. 90 roses, Sue? And you tell me you have a small garden! The ones you show are gorgeous although I suspect that some of these will not like the rain as I realise this is an issue with my Souvenir de la Malamaison, a problem Chloris has mentioned too. Ipsilante is gorgeous and there is something very appealing about Graham Thomas and Wollerton Old Hall even though I think I could never have this shade in my own garden. Isn’t colour a strange thing?

    Like

    • I use to think that about colour, then I started adding some peachy colours then deeper and now orange, I really think the garden has benefited for it. It now’ zings’, if that is a word. The roses are everywhere,some in my small trees and lots on boundary fences,and my neighbours love them. Also the garden is broken up by more trellises so more growing area. By the way Ipsilante grows on it’s own roots, so should I find one growing near the main one I could try to lift it . My sister had one of me last year.

      Like

  8. I left a comment yesterday about your lovely roses but it disappeared. Maybe it has gone into your spam?
    They are all gorgeous I grow Mrs. Oakley Fisher too, isn’ t she beautiful?

    Like

    • Right , I had a problem with my email yesterday and all my mail went into spam….strange things happening in cyber space….
      Mrs O/F has suffered abit this year, but I think it will pull through, just had the one flower so far but there are more forming. I thrive on a challenge…!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

