Cooling down the garden

The garden is taking a bit of a roasting this week. With storms forecast and missing us out completely we are desperate for rain here in the garden and on the allotment.

Having said all that I may be woken up in the night to thunder ……

Now the garden is looking a little jaded and pale, but making the evenings shine are a few lovely white and pale plants.

 

Thalictrum reniforme

Thalictrum reniforme

This Thalictrum is a gem, flowering now after all the large blowsy ones have finished it is a welcome sight. Flowering in the White Garden it is a very delicate looking flower and is about 90 cms tall.

Stalwarts in the garden have to be the following few.

 

Anemone hybrida 'Honerine Jobert'

Anemone hybrida ‘Honerine Jobert’

This anemone makes huge colonys, growing very tall and lighting up the evening garden. I never grow the pink types as I find the colour hard to place.

 

White Cosmos

White Cosmos

I have to grown Cosmos every year. It is a favourite. I first grew these from seed that my good friend Lianne bought over from Korea with her when she came to England about 10 years ago, sadly the family have returned to Korea but I still grow the the progeny of those original seeds, and we still keep in touch.

Leucanthemum x superbum 'Old Court'

Leucanthemum x superbum ‘Old Court’

A different looking Leucanthemum from the norm, not to everyone’s taste, but I like it. This is from Elizabeth MacGregor Plants

Rosa Moschata ' Princesse De Nassau'

Rosa Moschata ‘ Princesse De Nassau’

Now this rose is a lovely late flowering short climber. Growing to about 2 mts , it starts flowering around late July early August and goes on until the autumn, which can only be a good thing. Starting off as pale pink buds aging to creamy white double flowers.

Pelargoniums...deep red selection from' Woottens of Wenhaston'

Pelargoniums…deep red selection from’ Woottens of Wenhaston’

 By now you should know me…I love Pelargoniums and these are new for me this week. Ordered wednesday and arrived this morning (friday), all are deep red types P. Voodoo, Scarlet Unique,Black butterfly,Lord Bute, Romeo. Thank you Woottens of Wenhaston. This has certainly bought some colour into my garden.

Hopefully we shall have rain soon or else it’s out with the hosepipe again……

10 Comments

Filed under gardening, Pelargoniums, White flowers

10 responses to “Cooling down the garden

  1. I love Thalictrums, this white one is a beauty. The Leucanthemum ‘Old Court’ is one I haven’ t seen before, it’ s gorgeous.
    I have also bought Pelargoniums from Wootens in the past; the same ones as you. I love to visit this nursery, they have some fabulous plants. So sad that Michael Loftus died but the nursery is still wonderful.

    Like

    • I know nothing about the nursery. Tell me about Michael Loftus, who was he ?

      Like

      • Michel Loftus was the founder of Wootens. He was passionate about plants, specially Pelargoniums and bearded Irises. He used to write wonderful catalogues, I wish I had saved them because his remarks about flowers were funny and his descriptions spot on. He could be extremely rude to visitors to the nursery but also charming. He was quite a character. He died in 2012 and is much missed by people who loved the nursery. It is still going of course and still sells great plants but going there is not the same since Michael’s sad death.

        Like

      • Thanks for that, I do like to hear about such gardening characters. I have 2 catalogues one on auricula that they sent me once,saying that’ we don’t do this sort anymore,but being as you’re passionate !’, and it’s fabulous like a book really. The other I found in a charity shop, about pelargoniums and it’s the same format. I treasure these as they are so beautiful in their own right. I hope the nursery continues, are there anymore family members…? 🙂

        Like

  2. The Leucanthemum ‘Old Court’ is one I haven’ t seen before and would love to have it; I thought when I first saw it that it was a white Echinacea. Michael really was a character and not always all that helpful to visitors to the nursery, I remember watching him selling an Angelica gigas to someone and promising that it would easily come back the following year!

    Like

    • Probably one of those love him or hate him characters…but not in a bad way..are you local to the nursery ?
      I can send you a small root in the autumn of ‘Old Court ‘ if you like. I have already got you down for some Papaver Spicatum seeds, I am hoping they are viable as the rain has got to them this year. 🙂

      Like

  3. Old Court is fun! I’ve never seen that before, Sue 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

