Cheats Patchwork….Tutorial….Part One

This summer I have made several zipped tote bags for family and friends, each time I make one I end up with 8 small 6 cm squares, and you know me I have to use them somehow.

IMG_4113

The school lunch totes for the girls .

IMG_5491

Tote for my daughter – in – law to use in her new job.

IMG_4116

A tote sent to Korea to my lovely friend Li-anne.

031

A bit of indulgence, well a girl can never have too many bags.

I thought I would share with you this tutorial for using up odd bits of fabric, and as you will see they can be any type, just fairly regular in size.

All of the little squares were bonded to a muslin backing fabric.

IMG_5584

IMG_5583

IMG_5585

These were then stitched down using a large zig zag stitch.

IMG_5586

Don’t worry about neatness, this is quick and rustic.

IMG_5587

IMG_5589

Lay the fabric on a surface and cut up through the whole patches.

IMG_5590

Taking every other strip, turn them 180′, creating smaller, narrow patches.

IMG_5591

Machine zig zag again these new smaller patches.

IMG_5592

Doing the same again, cut up the width of the patch and turn every other one 180′.

IMG_5594

Creating tiny square patches.

Zig Zag again.

IMG_5596

Next bond the whole of this fabric to a piece of bondable wadding.

IMG_5597

Change your machine foot to a free machine embroidery foot or darning foot, dropping the feed dogs, lift the needle tension. And away you go. Using the needle as a pen and lots of smooth movements, create swirls in a couple of different coloured threads.

IMG_5600

This strengthens the fabric and quilts at the same time.

And there you have made yourself a piece of usable fabric that you can use to make all sorts of things.

Part 2 we will make a small make up type pocket …watch this space…

13 Comments

Filed under Textiles

13 responses to “Cheats Patchwork….Tutorial….Part One

  1. Your tutorial reminds of years and years and years ago watching my grandmother do the same thing to make quilts. Thanks for the memory.

    Like

  2. Do you reckon there is any way of making the bags waterproof?

    Like

  3. diversifolius

    I don’t know why but I can’t see the images you uploaded, just the names of the files (img…)

    Like

    • Nobody else has said anything ….but when I posted these last 2 posts they usually go to my F/B page as well but they didn’t. I have refreshed the F/B button. It’s a mystery… 🙂
      Can you see them by clicking on each photo ?

      Like

      • diversifolius

        I can see only a few of them and the rest show IMG and the number of your image and if I click on it I get a 404 Error – but don’t worry I got the explanations 🙂

        Like

  4. Loved seeing all those pretty fabrics, Sue – but now having a very small granddaughter I have another use for off cuts (well, perhaps not 6x8cms!) at the moment

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

