Surprises

On Friday I took a final walk around the garden for October 2014. I was pleasantly surprised to find several plants flowering out of season.

IMG_5688

Now both of these blooms just shouldn’t be doing this, Camellia Nobilissima and a large flowered clematis in October !

The camellia usually flowers, if I’m lucky, around Christmas time provided the frost doesn’t get it first. The clematis, well that’s an early summer flowering type.

IMG_5690

The drying heads of Hydrangea and Clematis Alba Luxurians. Now I did cut the clematis down at the end of it’s usual flowering time, but it just seems to be going on and on.

IMG_5686

And my favourite an unnamed Auricula looking perfect in the autumn sun. There are several more pots with buds showing.

IMG_5558

Now all of the Astrantia seem to be enjoying this weather as well. Roma along with Shaggy Florence and Venice are all giving me cut flowers.

IMG_5669

The Dahlia Purpusii has made an enormous amount of growth this year. During the spring I took more cuttings and have four more plants growing, all equally as prolific.

The only thing to do is enjoy the display while you can, it surely can’t last for too much longer…….

9 Comments

Filed under From The Potting Shed

9 responses to “Surprises

  1. What a joy it is this Autumn to be able to enjoy such a wealth of flowers both early and late ones, in the garden. And up until today the most glorious weather.
    I love those dahlias, did you grow them from seed?

    Like

  2. I have fallen in love with Dahlia Purpusii too, if you could manage a cutting for me too, I’d really appreciate it. You could send it to Chloris and I could collect it from her as she lives near my MIL. Enjoy all your lovely blooms while you can.

    Like

  3. Who knows how long… The upside of global warming, perhaps?!

    We sat outside to eat our lunch today, which was very pleasant😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

