Cooling Down and Hotting Up.

As the garden starts to cool down, taking on it’s stunningly beautiful autumn colours, my workroom starts to hot up. Filled with inspiration and enthusiasm I now feel the need to make, make, make.

IMG_5666

But first possibly a final look at the garden before it goes to sleep. My neighbours beautiful Copper Beech looking at it’s best, won’t be long before the whole lot falls then I’ll be out there raking leaves. The only problem with these is that they take far too long to break down into leaf mulch.

IMG_2787

I have a habit of not throwing anything away even bits of wood. These tend to be placed around the pond as hiding places for newts and other small creatures. These lovely bits of wood then often produce fungi which to me are as beautiful as the flowers around.

IMG_2785

Some years I may see none at all but this year seems to be a good one.

IMG_1152

A general view of the bottom garden, this is where we removed the g/daughters playhouse from. You would never have thought it had ever been there. Lots of autumn colour in this area asters, cyclamen,phlox and a couple of grasses. In the background the rusty leaves of viburnum opulus.

IMG_3015

The ever welcome flowers of saxifraga fortunei. Flowering really late in the season and looking so delicate you would think that the cooler nights would kill it off.

IMG_1115

And still we have roses. This one being Rosa Macmillan Nurse a very pure white flowering right up till the frosts. Papaver rupifragum still flowering it’s socks off. Behind is a pink hydrangea now turned a lovely dusky deeper shade.

So as a taster from the sewing room. A piece of fabric bought possibly last year from Best Fabrics Castle Donnington, just enough for an autumn inspired bag. Thinking about the softer colours this barrel type bag has two side pockets and an internal one, I was going to use some pale leather on it but working on the hoof I change my designs throughout my making up process and decided against it.

IMG_1116

Bag handles made. Fabric not leather.

IMG_1117

Internals done, bag base stiffening in place.

IMG_1118

As a fastener for the sides I had two studs left over from when I made my leather weekend bag last year. Finishing off the sides nicely.

IMG_1125

All labelled up…..

IMG_1122

…and ready to go.

IMG_1127

Still have a few jobs to do in the garden, several bags of tulips to go in, plants to move and the whole garden to mulch for the winter then it’s time to start making all those things I’ve been planning. Bring it on…… Sue

13 Comments

Filed under From Sewing Room To Potting Shed

13 responses to “Cooling Down and Hotting Up.

  1. I love looking at your garden, but as a total non-sewer I adore seeing your indoor creations. That bag is gorgeous!

    Like

  2. diversifolius

    A large garden and a sewing room – the sure recipe for a very busy, happy person! 🙂

    Like

  3. Beautiful bag – love the fabric, handles, everything. 🙂 What type of sewing machine do you use?

    Like

    • Hi Judy, my sewing machine is a Janome Memory Craft Professional, and at the time it came with a free extension table which makes sewing anything large a dream. It also copes really well with several thicknesses of denim and leather. Also has an inbuilt walking foot. I love it and at the time it was the best one thousand pounds I’ve ever spent. I would recommend it. Sue

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You’ve identified an orange poppy that grew up all by itself and I thought was a remnant from my early poppies! Now I know its name Papaver rupifragum. I like Saxifraga and your fortunei looks lovely in your garden at this time of year. In fact, your autumn garden is beautiful and having a copper beech much make it a special time of year for you. Amelia

    Like

    • Thank you Amelia. The copper beech is lovely, although it is now getting very big. It’s in our neighbours garden and when the previous owners lived there they would mutilate it and virtually cut it to the trunk. My lovely new neighbours have now let it grow back to what it should be. But I think they and us are now getting a bit concerned about it. Good to know you have managed to identify your poppy, it’s such a good long flowering plant. Sue.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. How many bags have you got Sue?! You really must have a bag fetish or something… 😉 But seriously, it is a very lovely bag and no doubt from a bargain piece of fabric. The space where the playhouse has been removed from is amazing isn’t? I remember those ‘after’ photos so you have done brilliantly to fill the space so quickly. And do tell me about this poppy – how long has it flowered for and how tall does it grow?

    Like

    • Hi Cathy, no fetish just like a challenge. The poppy is about 60 cms tall comes back each year, I get some new plants come up but not excessive, although I try to save seed. If I have some seed I will send you some. It flowers from early spring until the frosts. Originally came from Plant World Seeds. Sue

      Like

Leave a Reply

