Elvis has finally left the building

After two and a half weeks Elvis has finally left the building. Intrigued, let me start at the beginning ……..

I had a visit from Mrs M, asking would it be possible for me to make an Elvis suit for the 13 August as The Madeline Rust were going to be performing in a charity event at the Waterfront Festival, Nottingham, but instead of performing their own songs the theme for the whole event was ‘Songs from dead rock stars’ also to possibly dress up as one too.. So this is where I come in……

So working from just a few measurements and looking at a halterneck jumpsuit that she already had, we made a toile. (That’s a trial garment made from gash fabric, the blue garment in the first picture) .

After several fittings with nips,tucks and darts, lots of stage type glitz and sparkle we ended up with this. And what a pleasure it was to do too. Love you Mrs M for keeping the sparkle alive….

And what did it look like on the day ……

Elvis 11

She and the whole band looked truly amazing, they put their hearts and souls into their performance and did some brilliant covers.

TMR

I can definitely see this outfit turning up on stage again in the not too distant future….

 

9 Comments

Filed under From The Sewing Room

9 responses to “Elvis has finally left the building

  1. Love the peacock. Did the other Elvis have one on his outfit?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That was some transformation! Amelia

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Amelia, as I’ve often said, I love a challenge and that was probably high on the list with her wedding dress 10 years ago…. The hair by the way I knew she was having it bleached as she does regularly, but the blue was a bit of a shock even though I knew that was happening as well, but I thought it was a wash in wash out job…. oh no it’s not…. Sue

      Like

  3. Some mothers do ‘ave em!! You have done a brilliant job – with the Elvis suit and your daughter!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your lovely comment…I still say, I know I’m biased, but she is the best in every way I love her to bits….And I have no doubt that I will be making yet more outfits for her in the future as I have been doing for the last 20+ years since she first formed a band. On a different note I’ve decided to opt out of opening again for a while as this year has left me totally exhausted, so we will be doing a lot of chopping back of lge shrubs and trees. Hope you are both well. Sue

      Like

      • Yes, both well here – with lots of sprucing and tweaking schemes in mind befoer our opening next year. Sorry you were exhausted by your opening experience – you certainly put a lot into it and your Beeston openings too but you will know when you feel up to it again. Take care

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

