Conservatory

When the days are wet or the weather turns a little chilly, I like nothing more than pottering in my conservatory.

We have had a conservatory for around 30 years now, the present one for about 12. I really wouldn’t like to be without one now. We face east so we don’t get the full afternoon sun, which I understand from neighbours across the road is a boon.

I have always wanted to be able to fill this room with lots of plants, but also be able to sit comfortably. All the furniture apart from 2 wicker dining chairs is second hand, stuff that friends, neighbours, family and even complete strangers have been giving away. I like the challenge of making something usable from someones cast offs.

As for plants, well I’ve tried everything. Had many many failures and some success.

The stalwarts for me are my Pelargoniums, they love the sun and tolerate the heat really well. I tend to bunch them all together in the winter and they seem to fair ok.IMG_5265

I also wanted to include climbers, so have 3 passion flowers, Pura vida and Constance Elliot both flower for me, I have the common blue but it never flowers I think it is too vigorous to be kept in a pot. This is going outside next year as I now have 6 plants growing from seed sown this year of Maurandya ‘Magic dragon’, Plant World triumphs again. This is climbing in all of the corners.IMG_2386IMG_5271

Five plants have flowered the other is showing fat buds.

IMG_5237IMG_5269 IMG_5270  IMG_5272 IMG_5273IMG_3161IMG_5012

Other plants in here include Stephanotis, Plumbago, Begonia sutherlandii, Solanium conchifolium, Plectranthus fruticosus and Streptocarpus glandulosissimus. One more plant from plant world seed, that may flower one day if I can get it to overwinter is a Gloriosa Rothschildiana. Along with several succulents, the conservatory has something in flower all summer long. IMG_2290IMG_2460

Granddaughters making animals from corks and cocktail sticks last summer.

So you see it’s a very well used room……and a joy to find time to sit in….occasionally.

 

11 Comments

Filed under conservatory, gardening, Pelargoniums

11 responses to “Conservatory

  1. You have made such good use of your conservatory, Sue – I intended to grow half hardy plants in the sitooterie but after losing an expensive bouganvillea the first year I haven’t taken it any further, and I certainly don’t sit oot in it as often as I would like to 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Serious conservatory envy and I love that pink passionflower!

    Like

  3. I love it and all the plants you grow in it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You make great use of the conservatory. Sometimes NOT having the afternoon sun can be a distinct advantage. It can become unpleasantly hot for plants and people.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. diversifolius

    A conservatory is something I wish but know I’ll never have – so it’s good to look at others 😉 Yours is wonderfully full of flowers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you …I always wanted a C and mine is definitely plants first people second…I would make for the Orangeries in stately homes and look with envy at all the lovely plants that grew in them…… 🙂

      Like

  6. Beautiful. We don’t have a conservatory but we do have a four season back porch that we love. I wonder what it would take to turn that into a conservatory.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Cathy alerted me to your conservatory and I am so glad she did, it is fabulous and great to see one used to house such exotics. I especially love the passionflower and the plumbago which is what started the coversation. Where did you source them? D.

    Like

    • The plumbago came from a friend as a cutting about 15years ago and the passion flower came from a ‘shop’ that popped up and opened only for a few months then disappeared. I don’t think they knew what they were selling as they had loads of unusual plants bought from a wholesaler and they were selling them really cheap. At that time I bought loads of stuff, then they vanished. 😦
      Glad you like the conservatory, it breaks my heart when I see one that doesn’t have plants in it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

